In 1947, California became the first state to require convicted sex offender registration. Sex registration requirements are currently defined by California Penal Code section 290. This code mandates the following upon release from local jail, state prison or completion of an alternative sentence:
- Registration within five working days of moving into the state or into any law enforcement agency's jurisdiction
- Notification of a change in name, residence address or location
- Annual registration within five working days of his or her birthday
- Registration of "transient" sex offenders with no permanent address once every 60 days
- Registration of those deemed "sexually violent predators" once every 90 days
- Sex offenders who fail to register can be charged with a felony.
If you have been accused of a sex crime, contact my office today for a free 30-minute consultation. I am available to discuss your case 24 hours a day by e-mail or phone at 619-697-0333. Evening and weekend appointments, and flexible payment options may be available depending on your situation. From my La Mesa office location, I serve clients throughout San Diego County and Southern California.